Confession time!!

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Dictionary, Shmictionary.”

Time to confess: tell us about a time when you used a word whose meaning you didn’t actually know (or were very wrong about, in retrospect).

I always fight with my dearest hubby, as he keeps on correcting me for the words I use or the way I pronounce it. Sometimes I do it mistakenly while at many times it’s intentional. I just love to annoy him. I remember an incident during our courtship period which comes alive every time I spell the word “career”.

My then fiancee (who is now my darling husband) had come to meet me for the first time and we were sitting in the restaurant and chatting over lunch. I was pursuing my CA and were discussing on its future prospects and I said ” I really want to go ahead in my carrier (career I meant) but pronounced it wrongly. He corrected me immediately and made me pronounce it after him. Not only this, he also explained me the meaning of both words which annoyed me literally. But I stayed quiet for sometime as I was very embarrassed. He had sensed it and said grinning ” Oh come on! It happens with everyone and mistakes happen and we learn from it,

I was thinking deep within me, What kind of guy is he? At least he could have corrected me later and not today. To confess I stayed quiet that day, but today I keep pronouncing words incorrectly and he still keeps correcting me. 

quote

3 Replies to “Confession time!!”

Leave a Reply

