Day 4: First time Mom!!

I want to reach all first time mommies here in this post and would like to share love, compassion and sorrow of journey being a mother.

I still remember the day when I was reborn. It was three years back, when I gave birth to my son and got new name to myself -MOM. The feeling which I had, cannot be expressed in words, it can be FELT.

I am was very naive on this subject of parenting. Further, I also didn’t have many friends who were new parents and could give me hands on expertise. So I can say, I was about to venture into sea with almost no skill to swim across. But as it’s said, if God makes you a mother, he grants you all the strength and grit to sail through.

First year of my motherhood was full of emotional breakdown for me. This was because, new-born has its own demands and the only way of his communicating with you is “To CRY”. He has an erratic sleeping patterns and it’s really tough to attend his demands (especially in nights). We stay in a nuclear family and all thanks for my husband (only support system) to be on my side always. He used to get up with me at night every time my brat cried,  be it for nappy change or for feeding, he was always there. I don’t know, how I would have behaved, if he was not there. Things are new for both of us and we both are learning this new life called “Parenthood”. There were hardships which were balanced with his giggles which just made our day. We enjoyed all his milestones be it his first turn around, crawl, tooth, walk everything. Every time we noticed him trying something new, it seemed like we are awarded for our hard work.

Second year, was full of enthusiasm and him exploring the world all by himself. He has started to   run and it was getting difficult for me to cope with him (till date it is).  At this age, my brat had lot of mood swings and used to throw tantrums now and then. I remember when as a couple, we used to visit a shopping mall and saw a toddler throwing tantrums on his parents, rolling off the floor and crying aloud, we thought this kid is so undisciplined. Now, we were in same shoes and when brat did so, we both hid behind the pillars of the mall, so no one could trace us as his parents (funny isn’t it). But my brat is a real brat, he didn’t used to get up, let the crowd gather. Finally my hubby used to get him off the floor. But one thing was sure, we never gave up on his unreasonable demands. These kids know how to convince parents over things they want. Clever they are! So parents be vigilant when you are dealing with their demands.

I will be celebrating my brat’s third birthday in the month of August. I can’t believe he is three-year old now. He is a notorious toddler who is more independent and in exploration stage. He now play on his own (though he makes sure am involved too, if am around), has preferences of what he will wear, likes being asked what he want to eat and many more. His questions have increased and every statement has why,when, where and how in it. I just so love his questions but its difficult to answer and satisfy him. We think these little monsters are small and we can give any logic to pacify them BUT stop, never give insane logic to them. Whatever we do, say and act is imitated and idolized. So BEWARE of what how you act. I have observed that having him around has made us defer our arguments as we don’t want him to be a part of it. My husband is in a win-win situation, though I miss my arguments with him a lot.

first time mom

Sometimes I feel myself playing a Mario game (it’s a video game which I hope many of us has played in childhood days) in which as you pass levels, challenge becomes tougher. Same is with motherhood, each passing year you will have a feeling that you know your child, but then and there the feeling is gone, as new challenge (your little monster) is up for another mischief.

People say life changes after marriage but I feel actual change happens in life when you become a parent. Life becomes a roller coaster ride, in which many ups and down comes which you have never anticipated.

I am still waiting to see the results of my parenting and is in continuous process of learning the art. I wish my child comes out to be a good human being with good character, and success will follow him.

Share your experiences with me, would love to know!

Leave a Reply

